The 17th Gollapudi Srinivas National Award Announced

The 17th Gollapudi Srinivas National Award for the best bebut film was bagged by Gyan Correa for his film The Good Road.

Speaking to the media persons, veteran film director S M Vasanth said that the award comprising cash prize of Rs 1,50,000 and a memento will be presented on 12 August at a program at Music Academy.

The film was selected by a jury comprising veteran film director S M Vasanth, national award winning film editor A Sreekar Prasad and film actress Kushboo from 20 nominations received from across the country from languages like Hindi, Malayalam, Marathi, Tamil, Bengali, Gujarathi, Telugu and Kannada.

The film deals with three story lines which cross across each other on the film’s titular highway. Pannayarum Padminiyum (Tamil), Chaduvukovali (Telugu), Red Rain (Malayalam) and Lunch Box (Hindi) were among the movie nominations received. The Good Road (Gujarathi) emerged the winner, said director Vasanth. Film maker Gautam Vasudeva Menon and trustee of Gollapudi Srinivas Memorial Foundation G V Ramakrishna were among others present.